Champions named in England squads

first_img European champion Ashley Chesters, Amateur champion Garrick Porteous and English champion Sarah-Jane Boyd are among the leading players included in the England training squads for 2013/14.The squads include players attending college in the United States, among them US Amateur champion and world number one amateur Matthew Fitzpatrick and GB&I internationals Hayley Davis and Bronte Law.The England men’s squad is: Harry Casey (Enfield, Middlesex), Ashley Chesters (Hawkstone Park, Shropshire & Herefordshire), Ryan Evans (Wellingborough, Northamptonshire), Paul Howard (Southport & Ainsdale, Lancashire), Nathan Kimsey (Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire), Nick Marsh (Huddersfield, Yorkshire), Jimmy Mullen (Royal North Devon, Devon), Garrick Porteous (Bamburgh Castle, Northumberland), Michael Saunders (Dartford, Kent), Callum Shinkwin (Moor Park, Hertfordshire), Jordan Smith (Bowood G&CC, Wiltshire) and Toby Tree (Worthing, Sussex).Those at college in the United States are: Tomasz Anderson (Brocket Hall, Hertfordshire), Seb Crookall-Nixon (Workington, Cumbria), Greg Eason (Kirby Muxloe, Leicestershire & Rutland), Matthew Fitzpatrick (Hallamshire, Yorkshire), Jonathan Grey (Hever Castle, Kent), Ben Stow (Rushmore, Wiltshire), and Ben Taylor (Walton Heath, Surrey).Chesters, 24, became the first English player to win the European title since 2004 when he triumphed at El Prat in Spain in August. He was a member of the England squad in 2011/12 and made his full England debut against France last year.Porteous, 23, an England regular for the past three years, became 2013 Amateur champion at Royal Cinque Ports. He also won the Scottish Stroke Play Championship, was runner-up in the Welsh Stroke Play and helped England win the European Men’s Team Championship in Denmark before being selected for the Walker Cup.Fitzpatrick became the first English winner of the US Amateur in 102 years when he triumphed at The Country Club, Brookline in August having lost to Shinkwin in the final of the English Amateur. He was also a member of the Walker Cup team along with Shinkwin.There are 13 players, nine of whom are boy caps, in the men’s ‘A’ squad including 2012 English champion Harry Ellis and Ben Amor, this year’s English Boy champion.The England men’s ‘A’ squad is: Ben Amor (Marlborough, Wiltshire), Jamie Bower (Meltham, Yorkshire), Daniel Brown (Bedale, Yorkshire), Rob Burlison (Oxley Park, Staffordshire), Adam Chapman (Windermere, Cumbria), Joe Dean (Lindrick, Yorkshire), Harry Ellis, (Meon Valley, Hampshire, IoW &CI), Luke Johnson (King’s Lynn, Norfolk), Bobby Keeble (Crowlands Heath, Essex), Patrick Kelly (Boston West, Lincolnshire), Paul Kinnear (Formby, Lancashire), Alfie Plant (Rochester & Cobham, Kent) and Daniel Wasteney (Bondhay, Yorkshire).Ellis, 18, has represented England at every level, making his full debut after becoming English champion last year at Silloth-on-Solway, while Amor won the Boys under 18 Championship in a three-way playoff at West Lancashire in July.Kelly was boy champion in 2012 beating Keeble in a playoff, while the Essex teenager recently won the County Champions Tournament. Burlison won all six of his games in helping Staffordshire to the Boys County Championship, while Dean won the Lee Westwood Trophy a few weeks ago.The England women’s squad includes four home-based players and a further four who are based at college in the USA.English champion Sarah-Jane Boyd (image © Leaderboard Photography) and the England Lorrin Golf women’s order of merit winner, Alex Peters, are joined at home by two players who have been promoted from last year’s girls’ squad. Gabriella Cowley has just won the England girls’ order of merit while fellow international Amber Ratcliffe represented Europe in the Junior Solheim Cup – and, like Alex, both are GB&I internationals.Also promoted is Olivia Winning, who helped England retain the Girls’ Home Internationals before starting her studies at university in the USA. Other US players include Meghan MacLaren, a multiple winner on the women’s college circuit and the Irish stroke play champion. Bronte Law was a member of the winning 2012 Curtis Cup team while Hayley Davis is a past English women’s and girls’ champion.The squad is: Sarah-Jane Boyd (Truro, Cornwall), Gabriella Cowley (Hanbury Manor, Hertfordshire), Alex Peters (Notts Ladies), Amber Ratcliffe (Royal Cromer, Norfolk) plus the following players who are at college in the US: Hayley Davis (Ferndown, Dorset), Bronte Law (Bramhall, Cheshire), Meghan MacLaren (Wellingborough, Northamptonshire) and Olivia Winning (Rotherham, Yorkshire).For more information visit the England Teams webpage. 29 Oct 2013 Champions named in England squads last_img