5th unofficial ODI: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill lead India A to 8-wicket win over West Indies A

first_imgIndia A cruised to an 8-wicket win over West Indies A in the fifth unofficial ODI at Coolidge to complete a 4-1 series win with Ruturaj Gaikwad emerging as the player of the match on Monday.Chasing 237 for victory, India A rode on superb knocks from Gaikwad, Shubman Gill and Shreyas Iyer to reach the target in 33 overs.Gaikwad top-scored with 99 runs off 89 balls including 11 boundaries and 3 sixes while Gill made 69 off 40. Iyer finished unbeaten on 61 off 64 balls. The openers Gaikwad and Gill added 110 runs which laid a solid foundation for the run chase and helped India cruise to victory.Keemo Paul and Rahkeem Cornwall were the only West India A bowlers who were able to take a wicket each for the home team.vIndia A win the 5th ‘ODI’ by 8 wickets. #WIAvINDA pic.twitter.com/sMSHxuEvLZWindies Cricket (@windiescricket) July 21, 2019Earlier, a superb bowling performance from Deepak Chahar, Rahul Chahar and Navdeep Saini saw India A bowl West Indies A out for 236 in 47.4 overs.The Chahar brothers took two wickets each along with Saini, who also struck twice. Khaleel Ahmed, Krunal Pandya and Axar Patel were able to take a wicket each as well.Shane Rutherford was the top-scorer for the home team with 65 runs while Sunil Ambris made a contribution at the top with 61 runs.Shubman Gill ended up as the highest run-scorer in the five-match series with 218 runs while Ruturaj Gaikwad finished second with 207 runs, followed by Iyer (187) and Manish Pandey (162). Khaleel and Saini were the top-two wicket takers with 9 and 8 wickets respectively.advertisementThe impressive performances from the young India A players helped them clinch a place in the national team on Sunday with Iyer and India A captain Manish Pandey returning to the Indian ODI and T20I teams for the West Indies series.Among the bowlers, pacers Khaleel Ahmed and Navdeep Saini were included in the limited-overs squads while the Chahar brothers and Krunal Pandya made it to the T20I team.India’s tour of the West Indies will begin with a three-match T20I series starting August 3. The teams will then play three ODIs and two Test matches between August 8-30. The two Test matches will be part of the inaugural edition of the ICC World Test Championship.Also Read | How Shreyas Iyer and Manish Pandey are key to solving India’s middle-order puzzleAlso Read | India U-19 thrash England U-19 by five wickets in Tri-nation tournament Also Read | From backyard cricket to T20Is for India: Chahar brothers make it bigAlso Read | India tour of West Indies: Dhawan back in ODI side, Pandey and Iyer includedlast_img